Hope of Christmas

Several events recently happened that moved me to decide to write on my WordPress blog again. I quit writing about two years back and decided to use the other social media. But there is something about this WordPress blog that invites me back.

This morning while sharing my 6:30 daily devotion The King’s Word one of our spiritual sons shared their recent experience of typhoon Oddette. I was relieved to hear that they were safe. His last update was they were on the highway, and had to take cover, because their car was being blown by the wind. Then no communications for three days. I tried several times to call, text, and WhatsApp but they were unreachable. O that feeling or restlessness for some people you deeply care for and love. You go through the daily challenges of counselling, studying, writing sermons, presentations, Christmas parties and worship, while thinking how these precious friends are doing.

Attending worship yesterday helped me a lot. It’s like having driving a new tuned-up car. Praising God with the others, watching the others sing and love God, listening to the sermon all built me up. I was really encouraged. The current concerns remained, in fact, it got added, as I learned that a former acquaintance who visited our church regularly in Hong Kong recently passed away. Then, I had to face three simultaneous Christmas parties.

Then this morning the news came. So many losses, but their faith and hope remain. Like Emma and I do. I still have to hear from a nephew who was traveling to Manila from Mindanao by land, but were stranded due to the super typhoon. I will try to reach them again today.

Thank God for his provisions and grace.

Leave a comment